Wedding Etiquette Forum
Options

wedding party

Re: wedding party

• Options
    I love you artist folk and have complete respect because I could not do what you do, but can someone please tell the teacher in middle school to be nice to art students? We were required to take art and I tried my best, I just had no ability. I have an eye for art and I know what looks wrong, I have no ability to teach it. My art teacher, in 7th grade, told me that I best never try to create anything because I was a terrible artist and I would never make anything worth looking at. :( I tried so hard, I just sucked at it, but I hated everything to do with art until I went to college and realized that most artists weren't that way.
    I had a few VERY NASTY art teachers in high school. I was trying to round my skills out by taking as many of the traditional art classes as my school had to offer, and these two teachers were just straight-out mean if you were not in the group of hippie girls who did folk art kinds of things and wanted to have your own style. I stopped taking traditional art classes after being told, "I grade based on talent", and got into digital art from there.

I have seen that last teacher around town since then (and it's been eleven years, so yes, I hold a grudge because I actually fucking am talented), and you better believe I make eye contact with her and flip her off every time.

You did not deserve that bullshit from your middle school art teacher, or any teacher. People have different talents for different things, and I think a people forget that if a class wasn't required, some kids wouldn't take it. Some kids aren't into art, I will never understand why it is always pushed on them.