Wedding Etiquette Forum
Options

Do I not invite my father to my wedding?

Hello everyone, this is my first time posting and I have dilemma regarding my father. I will try to keep it short and to the point. So over the years I have not had a healthy relationship with my parents (they were unhappily married for many years and got divorced a few years back, for some reason they have enjoyed taking out their frustrations for each other on me) my mother not so much but my father constantly even after they divorced. My father has a new girlfriend he would like to bring to the wedding and considering some time has passed since the divorce I felt that was okay and even offered my mother to bring a guest. Needles to say she was very upset he was bringing someone, I explained that she was given the same choice. She was still upset but didn't say much. Then my father tells me he wants to walk in to the reception and be announced with his girlfriend of a year. I kindly explained to him that I didn't feel it was the best decision as I knew my mother would be devastated before even talking to her because of the way she reacting when she found out he was bringing someone. He then accused me of conspiring with my mother about the decision, which I did not speak to her about it, I instead confided in my two younger sisters who also felt it might be a bit to much for my mother to emotional handle that day. My father was very argumentative about he's decision and again stated how everyone is out to get him ( his typical response when he doesn't get his way). I explained that I am trying my hardest to make everyone happy and comprise. My mother didn't want her even at the wedding but I stood up for him and explained he has a right to being someone but I explained to him I felt being announced with her and taking professional pictures of them might me pushing it a bit much and I did not want to see my mother that upset (after my discussion with my father about the issues I did talk to