DIY Wedding Forum

PLanning....HELP!

So im planning our wedding and im down to 6 months before and honestly i dont have alot done and i have no motivation to get it done.  Im not your typical bride as im not really traditional or do i care about all the tiniest details mostly ( i worked in the wedding industry for years ).  Our wedding is mostly DIY at a venue that provides just tables/chairs, nothing else.  ANyways i have several planning lists and checklists and you name it but i just cant seem to get motivated to get any of it done.  So far ihave my dress (which i bought  months ago), we have our food planned (well we have the food picked out but no table setup or decorations), we have our venue and our photographer picked out.  Thats it.  Im at a loss as to how to get motivated or how to get stuff done.  I feel like its going to come down to the wire and im gona have nothing done.... what makes it harder is im def NOT a decorator.  so i feel like i have all these ideas and pictures of things i like but i dont hink its going to come together as one cohesive whole....
anyways any ideas or help here would be appreciated.  and one more thing, id love to hire a planner but we cant afford it =/

Re: PLanning....HELP!

• In addition to your overall lists, make short daily or weekly lists and then it won't seem like so much.
    What did you think would happen if you walked up to a group of internet strangers and told them to get shoehorned by their lady doc?~StageManager14
  • All you really NEED is you, your FI and an officiant. If you're inviting guests, you need chairs, tables and food/drink. 

If everything is DIY and you're not very motivated, keep the decorating very simple. Rent white linens and make an appointment with a florist for flowers. Let the florist do the decorating. Our delivery and set up fee with our florist was $50. Two phone calls, a meeting and boom, decorating done.