Wedding Woes

My roommate weirds me out

Dear Prudie,
I am a college freshman and I’m having roommate trouble. My roommate has some pretty peculiar habits which have started to make it uncomfortable to live with her. She is very anti-social and spends most of the time in the room. The only time she is not in the room is for classes and meals. I have invited her to dinner but she will not speak to me for the entire meal, even if it is just the two of us. The only thing that she will really talk to me about is her cats. She is very attached to these cats and keeps plastic bags of their fur with her at all times in her lanyard. Her whole demeanor makes me very uncomfortable because she doesn’t display emotion very well. I have spoken once to my RA who recommended I talk to her about our lack of communication. However when I brought it up she didn’t feel like it was a problem. I don’t know what to do! It’s not as though she is violating my personal space, but she just makes me feel unsettled.

—Worried About Roommate

Re: My roommate weirds me out

• Ick.  Atleast she keeps "just" cat hair.  I know of a person whose freshman roommate cut off a lank of this persons hair one night and put it on their own bulletin board.  Needless to say, this person moved out the next day.
  • Then show creepy roommate your ziplock Baggie of pubes. That's your kitty hair, thought you'd share.
    imageAlternaTickers - Cool, free Web tickers
  • I had a roommate I barely talked to, and sometimes that's just how roommates are. Of course, this was overseas and she didn't speak good English or the language of the country we were in so we could barely communicate, but it wasn't really that uncomfortable that we didn't hang out. Being anti-social isn't always a disorder or a bad thing. Now the cat hair in bags . . . I joke about collecting my rabbit's hair when he sheds and making a soft, soft pillow, but I never have, because for me that would be weird.