Snarky Brides
Options

My officiant broke up with me a week before the wedding!

So our wedding is exactly a week away. Over the past few months I've spent hours and hours perfecting the ceremony. I know in a lot of wedding's today, we focus on the reception but my fiancé and I were so so focused on the ceremony. I'm a writer and an english major so the words had to be exactly spot on. After months of meetings, tons of emails flying back and forth, we finally finished it! So I send the totally complete ceremony script back to my officiant with a sweet little note that thanked her for her time and patience working with me. A few days pass and I think nothing of it. Then I get this email saying she just can't do our wedding!! Like she didn't have a reason at all, she's not sick or injured. There hasn't been a death in the family. She just "feels" she's not right for us. OHHHHHH. So somehow she was right for us up until the week before the wedding?

So of course I call my best friend and bitch to her. And then I call my fiancé who immediately asks for her phone number to "politely discuss the issue". And then my mother in law calls me because she was expecting me over for some family time (I'm really close to my in laws even though my fiancé is never home). I tell her everything and tell her I just can't come over because I need to sort this out. This sweet woman tells me to come right over because my step father in law is ordering pizza and she's got two bottles of wine. God, I love her. It takes me 5 minutes to get there since they live up the road and by the time I pull into the drive way she is on a website that lists every JOP in southeastern ct and already on the phone with one of them. 

Long story short, we found someone to do the wedding within an hour of the whole situation taking place and I'm not even stressed really. I just needed to get real snarky with this story. Have you other brides out there or someone you've known faced a similair situation?