Wedding Photography and Videography Forum
Options

Photo copyright questions? (video too)

I'm just beginning to search for a photographer. I have 3 questions - 1. Getting copies of all the digital photo files sans watermark is fairly standard these days, right? 2. Is it possible to find a photog who will sell you the copyrights (and still be an insured vendor as our reception venue requires)? If not - 3. What language should I make sure is in the contract so the photog can only use the photos to promote their business (as in, not to sell for stock image/video use, news stories, etc.)?

The whole copyright issue freaks me out. And once I figure that out, I have to find someone actually talented, yikes :)

Re: Photo copyright questions? (video too)

• Options

My photographer gave us copyrights - i didn't purchase any prints or a book through her, I just paid for her services for the day and copyrights to all the prints. She was a insured vendor.  Some photographers i looked at charged a lot more for copyrights (some of the bigger companies that have been around as wedding photographers for awhile) the girl i used worked for herself not a larger company.   

• Options
    I'm just beginning to search for a photographer. I have 3 questions - 1. Getting copies of all the digital photo files sans watermark is fairly standard these days, right? 2. Is it possible to find a photog who will sell you the copyrights (and still be an insured vendor as our reception venue requires)? If not - 3. What language should I make sure is in the contract so the photog can only use the photos to promote their business (as in, not to sell for stock image/video use, news stories, etc.)?

The whole copyright issue freaks me out. And once I figure that out, I have to find someone actually talented, yikes :)