Oregon

Elopement in Oregon?

My fiance and I are from Iowa and are planning on going to Florence Oregon in September to visit some friends. We have decided on elopeing while were there. Does anyone have any ideas on how or where to do this?

Re: Elopement in Oregon?

  • edited December 2011
    Congrats on your upcoming marriage!

    I am also 'eloping' in Oregon.  I know a lot of the ladies on here suggest against elopement...and their reasons are valid and made me really consider if my choice was what I really wanted to do...

    That being said, marriage laws may vary by county.  For example, I am getting married in Portland, so I did a google search for "multnomah county clerk" and their official website has a whole section about marriage license requirements.  In that county, the license is only good for 60 days, after a 3 day waiting period.  After getting the license, you have a lot of options, from the 'court-house' type elopement, to a big wedding, to having a friend become ordiained and doing something entirely unique!

    FWIW - FI and I are getting married at VooDoo Doughnut.  Their website has all of their different wedding packages.  I'm not truely eloping though, as I am inviting our parents and one or two close friends.  Believe me, when I tell people its a doughnut store, I get a knee-jerk reaction from people, they mostly think its trashy.  But hey, what it comes down to is its our day, we like breakfast food, and we want to do something fun and memorable!

    I hope the license info is helpful.  Just do what ever you and FI want to do, its YOUR day, have it to please the two of you!
  • edited December 2011
    Florence has a casino. Maybe it has a chapel? That might be too Vegas for you, but you did say elope!
  • edited December 2011
    Thanks for the info it will be alot of help....
    I know a few people will be upset that were eloping but we need to make our selves happy.
  • DramaGeekDramaGeek
    2500 Comments 5 Love Its
    member
    edited December 2011
    Every county in Oregon requires a 3 day wait after applying for the license and all licenses are good for 60 days and must be submitted within 10 days after the wedding.  You can get a license from any county and use it in any county.  Some counties require that both bride and groom be present to get the license and you must pay in cash, while others will do applications by mail.  I would probably do a by maill app so that you don't have to worry about getting it when you get here.  There's no blood test required so you're good to go there.

    What else do you need to know?
  • edited December 2011
    Thanks so much everyone..... so now that I know what we need to do..... Does anyone know where to do it? We would love to get married at a light house any Ideas? 
  • edited December 2011
    Florence is absolutely beautiful, google if they have a light house.  I want to say that they do (it is the coast)
  • edited December 2011
    I just got back from honeymooning in Florence. It was beautiful there I recommend the Heceta lighthouse. They have wedding packages. http://hecetalighthouse.com/events/weddings
     When in Florence go over and see the Sea Lion caves. It's a site like none other.

  • jess9802jess9802
    Knottie Warrior 500 Comments Combo Breaker
    member
    edited December 2011
    As far as I know while some counties will mail you an application for marriage license, you must submit the application in person at the county clerk's office. The three day waiting period can usually be waived for an additional fee.

    Florence is in Lane County; the county seat is in Eugene, 60 miles away. The Lincoln County seat is in Newport, which is 41 miles away. Heceta Head Lighthouse is absolutely gorgeous. Their wedding packages aren't too expensive and have some nice little touches. September at the Coast can be absolutely breathtaking. Congratulations!
  • edited December 2011

    WinkThank you all so much It was all very helpfull...... I have never been to Oregon so Im very excited and hate that I have to wait another almost 5 months.... but im sure it wll be worth it..... Thanks again!!!!

  • DramaGeekDramaGeek
    2500 Comments 5 Love Its
    member
    edited December 2011
    Washington County does licenses by mail

    Licenses By Mail
    To obtain a marriage license by mail, please send a self-addressed stamped envelope to:
         Washington County Recording Office
         Public Services Building MS #9

         155 N. First Ave. Room 130
         Hillsboro, OR  97124

    An application will be mailed to you with instructions on how to fill it out.  On approval of your application, which is normally within 3 days of receipt, we will send your license to you.

    http://www.co.washington.or.us/AssessmentTaxation/MarriageLicenses/requirements.cfm

  • jess9802jess9802
    Knottie Warrior 500 Comments Combo Breaker
    member
    edited December 2011
    That is good to know about Washington County. Every other county I've looked at requires you to appear in person to receive the license.
  • edited December 2011
    that is great to know, it will make things so much easier...... thanks so much...
  • edited December 2011
    Clatsop County (Astoria, Oregon) seems to allow the licence to be taken care of via the mail.  Email them and they will send you their packet with forms and instructions.   
This discussion has been closed.
Choose Another Board
Search Boards