Chit Chat
Options

Potluck Help

I am going to a potluck this weekend. The food theme is Mexican food. So far, someone is bringing an enchilada casserole and dessert. There are two sides left. I am having a hard time coming up with a side for Mexican food. I am a terrible cook, so I am looking for an easy side dish. Another thought, is there a salad that would go well with Mexican food?

Everyone here seems to have lots of food/recipe  knowledge. I appreciate all the help I can get otherwise I will buy a box of  flavored rice and call it a day.

Thanks!

Re: Potluck Help

• Options
    Guacamole!
  • Options
    Guacamole!
    I was thinking chips and salsa/guacamole but isn't that an appetizer?
  • Options
    Cheese dip and homemade salsa.

• Options
    Spanish rice! 

• Options
    arrippa said:
    Guacamole!
    Psh. For me it's a meal!
  • Options
    arrippa said:
    Guacamole!
    Psh. For me it's a meal!
    For realz...  I can make a meal out of chips and salsa and/or guac.
    photo composite_14153800476219.jpg
  • Options
    Elote! Though I would probably cut the corn off the cob (or be lazy and use frozen corn, trader joes sells this really good frozen roasted corn.) It's basically corn mixed with cheese, mayo, and cayenne pepper. 

• Options
    Homemade refried beans would be good. Season them up good with onion, garlic, chilies. Add cheese on top. 

The cheese dip, in a crockpot, with or without meat added, is good too.  Bring lots of chips, and some disposable bowls to make nachos.

A big green salad with salsa ranch dressing, maybe?  Just mix drained salsa and ranch dressing together. Or add salsa to a basic vinaigrette dressing.