Wedding Party

I think I lack any real connections with my bridesmaids..

g0ldfish501g0ldfish501 member
First Comment
edited November 2014 in Wedding Party
Okay so this is my first time posting here and I could really use some insight. I know bridesmaids are only expected to show up to the wedding on time and be dressed, but I'm starting to think that they just... don't seem to care. About me. They just seem really indifferent about everything. I've known one of them since I was 5 years old and I still think we lack any real emotional connection, another is my roommate who will talk to me about her life and problems all the time but it still feels awkward and distant, and the third is a bridesdude (I can't think of a good word for it) that I'm not even sure knows whats going on at any given time. Maybe movies totally ruined it for me, but I always thought I'd have this really tight-knit group of friends who would want to go wedding dress shopping with me and tear up about seeing me in the perfect dress or be excited about having an awesome bachelorette party instead of complete indifference. Now I know that real life isn't like the movies and nothing's perfect, but I feel like I'm missing out on something by not being as close with my bridal party as I wish I was. The only person who seems to care about any of this is my sister/MOH. Hell, she's more excited about me trying on wedding dresses than I am. We talk almost every day and are always super happy to hang out together, and she lives 600 miles away. The thing is, I don't have anything close to that with the rest of my bridal party. I haven't even really spoken to any of them in days (not because of this, it's just how things have been). I just don't think they want the same kind of friendship and connections that I do, and I feel kind of isolated.