Not Engaged Yet
Options

This sucks. (Vent) **Updated in Comments**

bethsmilesbethsmiles member
First Anniversary First Comment First Answer 5 Love Its
edited December 2014 in Not Engaged Yet
On Monday I got an e-mail from HR saying my file was incomplete because although they had my official transcripts those didn't indicate that my masters degree had been awarded yet. My degree isn't awarded until I finish my thesis so I'm not surprised by this. However my boss (who hired me) is 100% aware of this. I was hired with the understanding that I have completed at least 18 graduate level credit hours (I've completed 33 and passed my comprehensive exams) and my thesis would be finished within a year (which it is on track for). I talked with my boss and she said she would inform them that I was fine to work in her department per this agreement and it would be no big deal.

Well, today I talk to her and she tells me that HR has hired a new head person who has decided to change the hiring policy so that the conditions I was hired under no longer apply. So basically she is seeing if they can make an exception for me (basically grandfather me in under the original hiring conditions) but she said she has no idea at this point which way it will go. So now I get to sit and wait to find out if I will still have a job come January but they haven't said when they will know by. So I guess I'm just going to be filling out job applications like crazy so that when my potentially last pay check comes at the end of December I'm not totally screwed.

ETA: Sorry this will be a bit of a post and run since I need to go to the gym but I just needed to get this all out!

Re: This sucks. (Vent) **Updated in Comments**

• Options
    Ahh that's horrible!!!   Isn't there some legal protection for that?!  

I hope it all works out :( 
  • Options
    Oh no! I hope this works out with HR soon.
  • Options
    CLoGreenEyesCLoGreenEyes member