Chit Chat
Options

Toasts: The good, the bad, and the boring

novella1186novella1186 member
First Anniversary First Comment First Answer 5 Love Its
edited January 2015 in Chit Chat
I've read several things over the past year about how the bride and groom should give a toast at the rehearsal dinner and also at the wedding (and yes, I know the difference between a speech and a toast! So thankful no speeches are involved!) 

I know it's tradition to thank guests for coming and whatnot. But what else do you say besides that? If I had to get up and give my wedding toast right now it would be like, "Thanks for being here, have fun drinking, love you!" Everyone on both sides knows I'm a writer so I feel like there's always this expectation/pressure that I'm going to say some brilliant profound thing. Which is exactly why we're not writing our own vows. I love public speaking, but usually I know exactly what I need to say. I'm at a loss here. 

Did you all give a toast at your rehearsal dinner and/or wedding? What did you say? Have you ever witnessed any epicly bad ones? Or astoundingly great ones? Aside from keeping it brief and saying thank you, what else is entailed? 

ETA: replaced "need to" with "should" because I don't know if toasts are even necessary, or just a tradition? I'm sure plenty of people opt out of this one 

Re: Toasts: The good, the bad, and the boring

• Options
    Oh dear. I didn't know you had to thank your guests for attending via a toast. I thought that's what the thank you notes were for. If it's an etiquette faux past not to toast, I'll stand there smiling while ultra extrovert FH makes a quick speech.

We're skipping all other toasts unless our dad's want to make a quick one.

Daisypath Anniversary tickers Daisypath Anniversary tickers

• Options
    We got the mic, thanked everyone for coming, and said "let's dance! "
  • Options
    hellohkb said: