Chit Chat
Options

Talk to me about work clothes

I need a more professional wardrobe. 

I'm a designer, recently graduated from college, and with the wedding coming up, the job search kind of slowed down...well, until someone found my resume online and contacted me. It turned out that he is a representative for a big designer company and I got an interview! I did well; well enough in fact that I'm going in for a 2nd interview and may be meeting someone famous in the design world. I guess that's when it hit me that my closet is still thrifty college kid clothes with only 1 professional-looking outfit for interviews. They say "dress for the job you want" and I feel like even if I don't get this job and end up getting a job with a small firm with no dress code, I should still dress like a professional.

So, I need some advice from you fashion-forward knotties and career women. What articles of clothing are must-haves for a professional wardrobe? Do you have any advice for a work-friendly wardrobe on a budget?

Wedding Countdown Ticker

Re: Talk to me about work clothes

• Options

work clothes depend on where you work. If you work in fashion, you should (probably, imo) look fashionable. Either classic or trend setting. I am NOT fashionable whatsoever, so I cant give much more help than that, but as a designer, you should trust your instincts when picking out your outfits.

Also, more casual environments will lend better to a more fashion forward/trend setting wardrobe. More conservative environments you'd probably want to go more classic.

My office is 'business casual', but jeans are ok/encouraged lol. So I just wear jeans and a dressier top most days. Occasionaly a skirt.

• Options
    My first thought: depends on what type of work.

But seriously, what type of design? That'll help. If it's like... graphic design at an ad agency, you can get by with a lot more color/pattern/flair than, say, coffin design.