Wedding Invitations & Paper

Save the date and invites

Hello,

Clueless guy here.

I'm getting hitched October 23rd, 2014. I was tasked with save the date and invites.

When should save the date cards be sent? 

What is the quickest and efficient way of getting everyone's home address that I want to send a STD card too? Is Facebook an acceptable way to send save the dates?

I have zero experience. Please help.

Any vendors or websites that offer STD / Wedding invite cards for a low price?

Please advise.

I am a new member to these forums.

Thanks,

James

Re: Save the date and invites

• Save the dates typically go out anywhere from 6-12 months, and closer to the 6 month side unless it's a destination wedding or you have lots of OOT guests.

FB isn't an appropriate way to send Save the Dates, but it's fine to gather addresses ONLY via private chat that way. FB chat, call, text, whatever to get addresses, but make sure it's in private so you aren't advertising your wedding to people who will not be invited. Remember that once you send a Save the Date, you are obligated to send an invitation, so err on the side of caution if your guest list isn't firm.

Vistaprint.com postcards are generally very cheap (wait for a sale if they aren't on sale right now, and wait for free shipping). I spent around $30 for 100 postcards. I simply uploaded a photo into one of their existing templates and then filled in our info. Once they arrive, you fill in the addresses, slap a postcard stamp on them (cheaper than a standard stamp), and dump them in the mail. Super easy.

Also, FYI, Save the Dates aren't even necessary. If you've got a tight budget, I vote for skip them entirely and casually email your VIPs to inform them of the date.

• edited January 2015
    Hello,

Clueless guy here.

I'm getting hitched October 23rd, 2014. I was tasked with save the date and invites.

When should save the date cards be sent?