Chit Chat
Options

NWR: Why didn't I figure this out sooner?

edited February 2015 in Chit Chat
Today, as I'm bogged down in paperwork and checking charts to make sure they meet state standards and writing notes to document what little progress I make with clients, I got really, really depressed. I don't think I want to be a therapist anymore. I'm 85% sure of this. But now what the hell do I do?

I have a bachelor's degree in psychology and a master's in marriage and family therapy. Could it get ANY more specialized?

I'm seriously lost and feeling crappy right now. I don't make a lot of money so it's not like I would be taking a pay cut if I changed careers, but I just don't know what I can do. And I don't know why I didn't decide this sooner, like before I spent tens of thousands of dollars in student loans. 

I've been feeling this way for a little while, and FI thinks it's just because most days I'm not doing actual therapy, instead I'm acting as a social worker and trying to get families to utilize resources that they refuse to use, and it's so draining, but even for the people I feel like I do therapy with, my heart just isn't in it. 

I'm not sure what I'm looking for here. How do I know where to go next? I can't afford to go back to school and I refuse to take out more student loans. I feel like I'm going to be stuck in this miserable job at this miserable agency forever. 

Also, why can't we have wine at work?
Anniversary

Re: NWR: Why didn't I figure this out sooner?

• Options
    KahlylaKahlyla member
    First Anniversary 5 Love Its First Comment Name Dropper
    edited February 2015