Chit Chat
Options

Picky Eater Kids

13»

Re: Picky Eater Kids

• Options
    I agree with the original poster.  This drives me nuts!  My family had a rule that you had to at least try the food being served for dinner.  If you did not like it, YOU could make a PBJ sandwich.  But the rule was we had to make it, not our parents.   I studied abroad in Rome in college, in one of my roommates was a "picky eater", meaning she pretty much wouldn't eat anything but McDonalds.  I couldn't believe it!  I kept my mouth shut, but it was hard for me to understand why she would eat food made of chemicals and God even knows what else, but wouldn't eat any of the other incredible food available to us in Italy! I don't think I saw her eat even one fruit or veggie the whole time we were there!  As an adult, it just seems like you need to understand, eat healthy foods, or be overweight with a ton of health problems!
  • Options
    I agree with the original poster.  This drives me nuts!  My family had a rule that you had to at least try the food being served for dinner.  If you did not like it, YOU could make a PBJ sandwich.  But the rule was we had to make it, not our parents.   I studied abroad in Rome in college, in one of my roommates was a "picky eater", meaning she pretty much wouldn't eat anything but McDonalds.  I couldn't believe it!  I kept my mouth shut, but it was hard for me to understand why she would eat food made of chemicals and God even knows what else, but wouldn't eat any of the other incredible food available to us in Italy! I don't think I saw her eat even one fruit or veggie the whole time we were there!  As an adult, it just seems like you need to understand, eat healthy foods, or be overweight with a ton of health problems!
    Yeah we were allowed to get a bowl of cereal (which was always things like Kix and Cheerios, Mom didn't buy sugary cereal) if we refused to eat dinner. But she wasn't making us anything different.