Chit Chat

Whole 30?

My sister and I are talking about starting the Whole 30 program. We turn 36 tomorrow and it seems like a good time for a clean start (after birthday dinners out and cake, of course). I find the idea of it pretty intimidating, particularly since it makes eating out next to impossible.

Has anyone here tried it? Any tips?
Daisypath Anniversary tickers

Re: Whole 30?

• Ive never participated in Whole30 specifically, but I can tell you that my husband and I more or less eat a whole foods diet, and I really would advocate for it!  We very rarely get sick (and I'm a teacher so I'm around sick kids all the time), we have a ton of energy, and never have problems with weight gain.  I like knowing what I put in my body and feel that it's really important.
  • I've done paleo for 20 days- which is really close I believe. I loved how I felt on it, but it simply was too hard to keep up! Also, I figured because I was eating clean, I could eat as much as I wanted- this was bad choice with the nuts and cashews because those calories add up fast. I woudl say I eat 75 % clean these days and I can definitely tell when I have had a bad couple days after eating clean for awhile. My stomach bloats up and I have all kinds of digestive issues. I think after 30 days, you will  find yourself incorporating in to your life even when the 30 days are up. 
  • I haven't done it--I am a huge grain-eater so for me even a paleo diet is too intimidating, but I have friends who have done them and LOVED it.

It seems like it requires a lot of preparation and cooking your own meals, so if you have the time/inclination to do that, it'll probably be a lot easier. I'm one to get myself into CODE RED HUNGER DANGER situations that require buying food immediately, so I would suck at it.
    This baby knows exactly how I feel