Chit Chat
Options

Having a serious convo w/ boss tomorrow, and it probably isn't going to go well

edited March 2015 in Chit Chat

TL;DR: I have been doing my job wrong for the past 2 years and may or may not get fired.

I work for a community mental health agency, and every 2 years we have a site visit by the state to check our charts and make sure we're doing things correctly. Luckily (or so I thought) the last time we went through this, I had JUST got a therapy job so I didn't have to check any charts. I didn't have any of my own yet.

Our next site visit is next month, and they check charts from every program. In my particular program, I'm the only therapist, and there's only one case manager, so it's our job to split the charts for our program and we have to supply the state with 10 *perfect* charts.

I've checked all but 12 charts, and not one of them is perfect. Why? Because I didn't realize I wasn't following up as frequently as I should, and I also didn't realize I wasn't providing as many services as I was supposed to be. I learned this information in January, so my charts from January to now are great, but everything from May 2013-December 2014 SUCKS. I know the last 12 charts are going to be exactly the same, and this is a huge problem.

My boss emailed me and the other woman today saying if we don't provide the state with our 10 perfect charts, they will cut our program during site visit. You guys, we don't have 10 perfect charts, and it's completely my fault. Our program is going to get cut because of ME.

So I'm planning to talk to my boss first thing in the morning to tell her, that way she knows the situation now as opposed to when the state starts ripping through our charts, but I really have no idea how it's going to go. She's super nice and laid back, but this is a huge problem, and there is absolutely no way to fix the damage that's been done.

I have the following outcomes in mind: