Snarky Brides
Options

Don't snark about my ring!

Re: Don't snark about my ring!

• Options
    egirl2015egirl2015 member
    First Anniversary 5 Love Its First Comment
    edited May 2015
    I don't like diamonds. I have a sapphire ring that we had made specially for us.  I love it but people always look at me like "oh you poor thing" when they see it.  It's very annoying! 
  • Options
    FiancBFiancB member
    First Anniversary First Comment 5 Love Its Name Dropper
    Ugh, some people have no filter. Mine is pretty small, which is what I wanted- I work in healthcare and with horses and don't want something big and pokey. If I'd had it my way, really it probably wouldn't be a diamond. Their worth is totally manufactured. I have an old ring I went to pawn and it was worth a whopping $100 and they were really more interested in the gold than they were in the ring or the diamond. 

I'm not feeling clever enough to think of something snarky back. Maybe something about blood diamonds or something so they feel like terrible people. 

And wtf .75 is huge imo. 
  • Options
    There will always be someone who has a comment, no matter what size stone you have. I've had someone snark on my ring and my center stone is almost 1.25!
  • Options
    I've lurked a long time but never posted, but I completely relate to this! My ring is "non-traditional," it's my birthstone (emerald) and pretty simple- but it's exactly what I told my FI I wanted when he got serious about ring shopping. I teach little ones, I'm clumsy anyway, and other than my ring I don't wear jewelry every day, so I didn't want a super ornate or expensive ring. 

When my FI proposed, those closest to us all said how well my ring suits who I am, but I do get the side eye/sympathetic looks from acquaintances/strangers... even once "oh that's an engagement ring?!" Ugh. I bite my tongue, but it's frustrating. 
  • Options