Wedding Etiquette Forum
Options

Tip Jar at Open Bar--An Employee Perspective

Hey!

I've recently come across these boards and their extremely strong feelings toward a tip jar being placed at an open bar. I work in the wedding industry and at just about every open bar (wedding or not), I've seen a tip jar. It has never crossed my mind that this might be rude. I totally understand it though. Maybe it's a regional thing? I live in the southeast. 
Do you consider it to be rude? Have you ever seen one at a wedding you attended and what were your thoughts?
I appreciate the fact that people pointed out the fact that this is against etiquette--this helps me immensely when planning my wedding because I wouldn't have thought twice about it. 

Re: Tip Jar at Open Bar--An Employee Perspective

• Options
    What Jen said.

• Options
    Guests should never have to nor feel pressured to give money for anything at a wedding.
    What did you think would happen if you walked up to a group of internet strangers and told them to get shoehorned by their lady doc?~StageManager14
  • Options
    Hey!

I've recently come across these boards and their extremely strong feelings toward a tip jar being placed at an open bar. I work in the wedding industry and at just about every open bar (wedding or not), I've seen a tip jar. It has never crossed my mind that this might be rude. I totally understand it though. Maybe it's a regional thing? I live in the southeast. 
    Do you consider it to be rude? Have you ever seen one at a wedding you attended and what were your thoughts?
    I appreciate the fact that people pointed out the fact that this is against etiquette--this helps me immensely when planning my wedding because I wouldn't have thought twice about it.