Chit Chat

White House tour / what to wear?

Has anyone done a White House tour before? I'm wondering what the appropriate dress would be? I was thinking a dress, but then wasn't sure if sleeves would be more appropriate, or if a sleeveless (not thin straps or anything, bra is def. covered), would work?

I grew up with the customs that shoulders should never be seen in church/respectable places, but now that I live in the Southwest, it's a little more casual. I have  a lot of appropriate dresses (I'm a teacher), but wasn't sure if I should bring a sweater, or plan on something else to wear. 

Anyone else have any tips who has done one before?

Re: White House tour / what to wear?

• You will see people wearing pretty much anything on the tour.  There are not dress restrictions that I know of.  Although it's been a long time since I did the tour.    I'm thinking Reagan was in office.

I was young, but I just wore shorts, top and sneakers.  We were doing a lot of walking that day, so I was comfortable.

What differentiates an average host and a great host is anticipating unexpressed needs and wants of their guests.  Just because the want/need is not expressed, doesn't mean it wouldn't be appreciated. 
  • KatWAGKatWAG member
    First Anniversary First Answer First Comment 5 Love Its

I used to work at the White House. I assume you are doing an East Wing tour? If so, I would dress nicely, business casual.

Personally I would not wear sleeveless, but I have seen people wear sweatpants.

If it is the west wing, there are strict dress codes. It basically boils down to business professional attire.

BabyFruit Ticker
  • cgss11cgss11 member
    5 Love Its Name Dropper First Anniversary First Comment
    I'll assume East Wing. I'm going to visit a girlfriend for a few days and she got it arranged. I'm guessing if it were West Wing, with dress codes, she would tell me? Hopefully lol