Wedding Reception Forum
Options

reception with a band

So, i'm just looking for some shared experience stories if ya'll have any.  I've never been to a reception with a band before, but the dude wanted a band, so we're having a band.

actually i'm pretty excited, we've hired a rockabilly band out of nashville to play our reception and i LOVE the band so it should be fun, but i have zero experience with a reception with a band.  I'm sure that it'll go well, but i'm curious to know, have you guys had one/been to one? how did it go? anything go well/suck hardcore?

any shared stories would be SO totally appreciated :)
.... excuse me while i go get those pesky kids off my lawn. ;)

sincerely, 
THE OLD

Re: reception with a band

• Options
    I've been to a few weddings with a band.   Some have been great, others meh.

While some of the bands were good, they often catered to a certain genre.  Which IMO doesn't always works when you have a multi-generational wedding or with people who just do not like that style of music.  I attended one where hardly anyone was out on the dance floor because the style of music was pretty specific and most people just didn't like it.   With bands that do different genres tends to let everyone dance.

Speaking for multi-generational, I've attended a wedding where the band was so loud the older people had to leave.  You couldn't even talk to your neighbor.  These are older people who at DJ weddings would be out on the dance floor, but it was just so loud and not the music they normally dance to, they left.    

Just like everything there are good bands for weddings and not as good.   I would just make sure yours does a good mix of music and not blast out your older guests.

What differentiates an average host and a great host is anticipating unexpressed needs and wants of their guests.  Just because the want/need is not expressed, doesn't mean it wouldn't be appreciated. 
  • Options