Chit Chat

Work Rant

Hello! It has been awhile since I last posted. I am having a difficult time at work the past two days and am at a lost for what to do.

I work as an English teacher at a Japanese preschool. My class last year was phenomenal. I started 1/2 way through the school year and... well, they made me love every day of my job.

There are several classes at my school. Level 1 (2-3 year olds), Level 2 (3-4 year olds), Level 3 (4-5 year olds) and Level 4 (5-6 year olds). According to the law, I can only have 22 3 year olds in my class. This means, that they had to put Level 2 into Class A and Class B. I am Class A. My class has 15 students. 9 of those students are brand new to the preschool and have never attended school in their life. Class B has 14 students, 2 of which are brand new to the school, and the rest are from the Level 1 class. The Level 1 class learns basic English phrases, Basic Colors, and Counting 1-10.

So, here I am with more students than the other teacher, and almost all of the new students. I only speak a little Japanese, so it is difficult to communicate with the children anyways. I was a bit annoyed, and asked the principal if it would be possible to move the students around so that both Class A and Class B had new students. But, she said to wait and see how the first week went. The first day was yesterday. It was awful.

And, yes... it was the first day, so I figured that they were just excited or nervous or some other feeling. And I completely understand that it is frustrating to have someone understand only about half of what you say. So, I went home. Grabbed a rum and coke and sat down to work on a game plan to make today a better day. It worked... mostly.

14/15 of my class did much better today. I got them to all sit down, and I gave a quick lesson on the classroom rules, following directions, the consequences of breaking the rules, etc. But... I have this one boy... and we are just not clicking.