Wedding Etiquette Forum
Options

Invite question

I work part time as a nanny for a lovely family.  The youngest is one of my flower girls.  When we made the guest list their grandma wasn't living with them, but now she's been "visiting" them since January, and doesn't seem to have any plans of leaving.  My days are spent helping her navigate the local real estate websites, and answering weirdly specific housing questions which I invariably answer with, "I don't know, you need to ask a realtor."

I feel uncomfortable NOT including her, but FI is completely against it.  The reason being, in my shortsightedness of not anticipating her being with them for 7+ months, I've been complaining about her.  Nothing too bad, and mostly anecdotal.  Like the time she decided someone's shoes smelled in the front hall, proceeded to smell EVERYONE'S shoes (making a huge stink about it, proclaiming how it was making her nauseous), and then put the offending pair outside in the rain.  We butt heads because I'm laid back and she's pretty high strung.  She's nice to me, and I see her more often than the parents (I just leave when all the kids are sorted out, so I go months without seeing them), but I also feel like there's too many chefs in the kitchen.

At this point I feel weird and uncomfortable not inviting her.  FI suggested we just address the invitation as "Family Jones" instead of writing out everyone's names and see how they respond.

Hill to die on and push back on "no g-ma!" policy?
Don't invite her?
Total etiquette blunder and say "Family Jones"?

ALSO, totally off topic, but did anyone else feel awkward about touching base with some of their single guests to ask if there was anyone they were dating who should also be included on the invite?

Re: Invite question

• Options
    kvrunskvruns member
    First Anniversary First Comment 5 Love Its First Answer