Chit Chat

Quitting smoking

Does anyone have any advice on how to support someone while they try to quit smoking?

FH is trying to quit. He's having a hard time and he doesn't like to talk about it.

Every once in a while, I'll ask how it's going and he always answers, but sometimes I get one word and sometimes I get how it's actually going.

A couple of weeks ago I put a gift bag full of hard candy and gum (and vanilla tootsie rolls..gross) in his car with a card. I don't even remember now what the card said..something about how I believe that he can do anything. He liked that and said it was helpful.

I feel like anything I say or any advice I would offer would just be unhelpful, as I have no experience quitting and don't know how he feels.

Shutting up and letting him know I love him is probably the best way to go, but it's hard to watch someone you love struggle and not know how to fix it.
Daisypath Anniversary tickers

Re: Quitting smoking

• Being patient and understanding if he's snappish or touchy. If he slips up, don't berate him. 

Also, one of the hardest habits to actually quit is the hand to mouth habit, and letting go of the sensation of smoke hitting the back of the throat (ick). I know a lot of people who use a nicotine free liquid in an e-cigarette, and they were able to quit because they still had the sensation, but no nicotine.  Seems much more effective than stepping down nicotine gradually or using the gum. 
  • edited May 2016
    An old friend swore that chewing on cinnamon sticks helped when she was quitting smoking. She said the strong flavor helped calm cravings.

I've lost a few family members to smoking-related illnesses. I salute your FH for quitting now.
  • Being patient and understanding if he's snappish or touchy. If he slips up, don't berate him.