Wedding Woes

4 men or he's just not that into you?

Dear Prudence,
I am a college student who will be spending my summer interning in a major city. My long-distance boyfriend is studying for the LSAT. Our plan was to live together this summer, and we split a deposit on a nice apartment. However, my boyfriend discovered the best LSAT tutors are elsewhere and decided not to come. This was a tough pill to swallow, but getting into law school is extremely important for him—something I’ve known from the beginning of our relationship—and eventually I came around. Since then, we’ve planned three short trips for him to come visit me, and I’ve made arrangements for us to do things he enjoys. Two days before he was planning to visit, he canceled all of these plans. He says his tutoring schedule is going to be extremely demanding, he will be taking practice tests twice a week for two months, and missing even a single one in order to visit me is out of the question. I am hurt and feel he is being tremendously selfish—he won’t even visit for a weekend if it means missing a single practice test. He thinks he has done nothing wrong and scoffs at the notion he should somehow make it up to me. How do I get over this?

—Boyfriend Chose Test Prep Over Me

Re: 4 men or he's just not that into you?

• He's focused which is great, but the timing is off for this relationship. So, my vote Conny is to hit the road, girl.
    mrsconn23glasgowtolondonMesmrEweOurWildKingdom
  • I'm usually the queen of "he's just not that into you", but I think this is really more a timing thing. This has been his dream a lot longer than he's known LW, and sometimes you have to put love on the back burner for other things in your life.

That being said, she isn't ok with being on the back burner (and I wouldn't be either), so it's probably time to break it off. He's not ready to be with someone until he's achieved that goal.