Attire & Accessories Forum

Even more stressed after first dress appointment

Warning, this is very long, pretty rambling, and a bit whiny. I'm trying to avoid overwhelming my friends and family with my wedding-related complaints so there's a good chance a lot will be dumped on these forums.

I have no idea what I want in a wedding dress. The last time I bought a dress anywhere other than Target was ~40 pounds ago, so I don't really know what looks good on my body anymore. I've also never been good at picking out clothes from pictures, so even after doing all the research online and in magazines I still wasn't able to narrow down my preferences much.

Well, I figured that sure it makes sense that I don't know how to pick a wedding dress, I've never done it before. I could probably use some help from a professional, someone who does this all day every day, so I set my first appointment to look at dresses.

The lady helping me was nice, but I really apparently should have had a better idea of what I wanted. "I really don't know what I want. Fit, neckline, fabric, all of it, I just don't know. I'd like to try on a bunch of different stuff and narrow it down." "Sure honey, we'll find something you love! Hmm, do you like lace?" "Um maybe?" Cue the montage of me being shoved into what felt like the exact same lace overlay/trumpet cut/sweetheart neckline dress over and over again for the next half hour.

It was awful and I felt like she wasn't listening to me at all.

"This one has a keyhole back." "Oh, well I don't think I want that. I have a lot of blemishes on my back," *next dress* "This is an illusion back. It isn't really backless because it has this mesh that covers you." "I can still see the issue spots though, I don't think this fixes the problem." "Oh it does sweetie don't worry." Do you...not have dresses with backs? I'm pretty sure those exist.