Chit Chat
Options

Should I remove the sleeves from my wedding gown?

I really love my wedding gown. I just don’t like the sleeves. Could a seamstress remove them and make straps and possibly make the front a v neck? My mom and sister love the dress the way it is, but I just don’t like the sleeves. Plus the sleeves and chest are really itchy! Does anyone have any advice and/or a picture of a similar alteration? Thanks!!

Re: Should I remove the sleeves from my wedding gown?

• Options
    I would think that a seamstress could remove the sleeves to make it sleeveless but I would get rid of the neckline. DD had an illusion neckline with lace trim that had similar lines as your neckline. Her dress was sleeveless. I think it would look odd to have a V neck but I'm not a fashion expert LOL!
  • Options
    I agree with @ILoveBeachMusic. If you wanted to shorten them to something capped or similar, that could be a good compromise.
  • Options

Buy a different dress if you don't like this one. The high neck and sleeves are the feature of the dress. Altering it to be a v neck will be difficult with the lace and probably won't look good. 

Bear in mind that if the lace is itchy now when you try it on, it's going to be really itchy all day. It's a gorgeous dress, but if it's not going to work for you as it is, you're better off with a different one. 
  • Options
    The bodice of my dress was similar to what it sounds like you're trying to do. It basically looked like a lace illusion neckline over a strapless dress - sleeveless with a v-neck down to the "strapless" bodice. But, it was made that way. So the lace was laid down and sewn in a v shape. The v shape wasn't cut into the lace, which is how I imagine the seamstress would have to do it with this dress unless she removed the lace and made an entirely new illusion neckline, which would be expensive.