In Laws and Roles

lovewinns22lovewinns22 member
First Anniversary Name Dropper First Comment
edited April 2020 in Wedding Party
I deleted my post because **Removed for ToS violation**

Re: In Laws and Roles

• Options
    Hey everyone.

So my husband and I are renewing our vows our 5th anniversary and having the wedding we never had. When we first got married one of his sisters had a horrible attitude and when I asked her about it she said she was there for her brother. The other sister was pleasant. However, 5 years have passed and 1 sister got married and the other sister renewed her vows. I was in both of their weddings, but when I was asked I initially said no because I did not think we were close enough.but i did it to please the family. (Im an idiot i know) Yes, he hang out for family gatherings and etc. but the girl chat, besties, supporting “friends and family”. We are not all there. I graduated college and did not even get a phone call. So the grand question, should I choose them as a bridesmaid and hope they have good attitudes? My husband, has chosen their husbands as groomsmen. That’s what makes it awkward for me. Their husbands in the wedding but they aren’t in their blood brothers wedding. What other role could I have for them? My husband chose 7 and I chose my 7 closest friends Ive known over 15 years.

help! Sorry for the long post. 
    A vow renewal after 5 years seems frivolous, in my opinion.  I find renewals more sincere and symbolic after a significant amount of time has passed, such as a 25 year milestone anniversary.  Even with a renewal after a significant amount of time has passed, the idea of including a wedding party seems unnecessary.  Vow renewals are more about the institution of marriage and the strength of the relationship, and less about the “party”.