Wedding Etiquette Forum
Options

Bridal Shower Planning Help

Brides, I need your advice. I know that my MOH will offer to host a bridal shower for me. She's also my cousin, and my family is super casual. Every bridal shower I've ever gone to within my own family was a backyard thing where everyone brings a dish and you sit around a circle on the couch. That's all well and good, but I'd really like to have something more formal, perhaps a space booked at a restaurant. I do events for a living, so I absolutely love a formal printed invitation, decorations, flowers, and the like. Basically, I struggle to let anyone else take over the driver's seat when it comes to an event I'm involved with. Another layer of this is I live in the state right next to my home state, and I'd like to pick a location in between my hometown and the metropolitan city I live now, so that it's accessible for my friends and soon-to-be in-laws here. 

Obviously, this is my wedding so I have so many ideas in mind for how I'd like everything surrounding it to go, but I don't want to come across as a Bridezilla or diva. How do I express my wishes without coming across as rude or ungrateful? Is it rude to offer to pay for things like printed invitations to assure they go out and are what I'd want? Is it okay to express my request on location given that it's to accommodate interstate families and friends? I love my MOH/cousin dearly and would never want to make her feel a certain type of way. I guess I'm confronted with that moment finally of being a type-a event planner planning for myself!

Thanks in advance x

Re: Bridal Shower Planning Help

• Options