Wedding Woes

I caused some weighty family drama.

Dear Prudence,

My husband of five years (together for seven) has a family place in the country where we spend most weekends, and I often invite my friends and family. This has been a dream come true because I’ve finally been able to return to horseback riding, after taking lessons for several years as a kid but having to give it up for financial reasons. Along with a flock of chickens, a few peacocks, and a rescue pig, our farmlet is home to my two horses. “Selena,” my first horse, whom I’ve had for about siz years, is a 20-year-old, 15.3 hand Thoroughbred mare weighing just over 1,000 pounds. “Apollo,” my new horse, whom I’ve only had five months, is a 6-year-old, 17.2 hand warmblood gelding weighing about 1,400 pounds. Selena is quiet and gentle enough that I can lead her around with a complete beginner or let them ride her in the round pen with supervision. Apollo is a huge sweetheart but still somewhat green, energetic, a bit of a goofball, and needs at least an intermediate rider. I don’t let anyone on him but myself or my trainer—I can too easily see him sensing this person doesn’t know what they’re doing, tossing them playfully, but forcefully and from a great height, into the dirt, and bounding away, kicking his heels up and farting in glee.

So recently, my parents and sister visited us in the country, along with my sister’s new girlfriend “Faye,” whom I hadn’t met before. My sister only recently came out to our parents (I had known for much longer) and they’re a bit awkwardly overeager to demonstrate their liberal bona fides by embracing whoever she chooses to date.