Wedding Vows & Ceremony Discussions
Options

NO Flash Photography At Ceremony

I'm still fairly new to the church I'm attending, and in their wedding policy it says that flash photography can be used during the processional and the recessional but NOT during the ceremony, because it is sacred. Also, during the ceremony the photographer has to stay in the balcony above, which means dark pictures and a bird's eye view. They said we could "recreate" any moments we needed to after the ceremony, but that's not the same, and we have limited time inbetween the ceremony and reception. Should I let it go or push for more freedom in the contract?

Re: NO Flash Photography At Ceremony

• Options
    A good photog should still be able to get good photos.  Our church doesn't allow any to be taken in the sancuary during the ceremony, and I've seen pics that were taken through the glass door.  As long as the church is well lit, it shouldn't be a problem.
  • Options
    The  church has rules for a reason.  Plenty of other people have been married there and did not have their weddings ruined by the no flash rule.  If you want to find a more flexible venue, go ahead.  But I would not try to negotiate with the church to try to get them to change the rules for you.
  • Options
    tldhtldh member
    First Comment
    You might want to ask the priest to make an announcement at the start of the ceremony regarding flash photography.  A lot of guests may not know the rules.
    AKA GoodLuckBear14
  • Options
    I work in a church that has the same rules/restrictions.  And it's for a reason.  We consider a wedding ceremony to be a worship service.  Having flash photography during a worship service destroys the intent of the service.