New York-Upstate
Options

Piano Player - Albany

Hi! We're getting married in Troy at The Franklin Plaza in March 2012. The Plaza has a beautiful piano in both the ceremony and reception rooms. We would like a live piano player for the ceremony and cocktails. Does anyone have any recommendations? I have no idea how much a reasonable price is. Thanks!

Re: Piano Player - Albany

• Options
    SaranacLakeSaranacLake member
    First Comment
    edited December 2011
    Hi - No suggestions (I'm way far north of you near Lake Placid), but I thought I'd drop in - I'm a church organist and pianist. 

Up here in the North Country, a pianist or organist (a real one) for a wedding is $200 to $250 for the ceremony. When I am doing a wedding, that includes a meeting with the couple (both must be present) and spending some time during that meeting playing them a line or two of this and a line or two of that to help them make some choices. I provide them with a list of suggestions and appropriate alternatives in case they don't want the-same-ol-thing. 

Rule of thumb - You want someone who plays the type of thing you want, but keep in mind, if they're experienced, they know more about this than you do, and can be a big asset, especially when it comes to suggesting music. Make friends. And unless you're stuck, don't choose someone you don't like. 

For cocktails, I would be a flat $100 for a reasonable amount of defined time, like 90 minutes or something, my choice of jazz/swing/piano-type music. Since it is background music for cocktails, people usually don't much care. If the couple had a request or two (although that's never happened), no big.