Wedding Vows & Ceremony Discussions

Ceremony Help

My FI and I are currently having a difficult time coming to a compromise on the wording of the Ceremony. We are having the owner of the facility do our Ceremony (because it was part of our package) however we are running into is the fact that HIM and HIS family have to have it WAY religious. ME and MY family are NOT religious and do not want it TOO religious.

Does anyone have any wording that either they are going to use or have used that might help be a good 'middle' for us? Any suggestion or help would be great!

Re: Ceremony Help

• (First of all, I'm no expert, but my initial reaction is that this issue is going to reach beyond your ceremony wording. I would try to initiate a conversation with your man about what effect your spiritual differences are going to have on your life together.)

IMHO, the solution for this problem, as well as other conflicts that might arise in your lives together, will come when you and Mr. Meli.Mel can find spiritual/religious elements or concepts that you can both subscribe to. My FI and I were raised with different religions as well, and this is how we found our compromise. We basically sat down and looked at what our individual priorities were. After boiling it down, we found we had these priorities in common: Kindness toward other people (all of them), a sense of gratitude for our blessings, and demanding the best out of ourselves and each other. Nobody is going to agree on absolutely everything, especially when it comes to religion. So you have to focus on what you CAN agree on.