New Jersey - South

Officiants? Florists? October Flowers? DJ's? HELP!

I am new to this Wedding stuff and have just started all of my planning! I need suggestions for officiants! How much do they cost? I don't want to spend a lot! Does anyone know cheap florists and ideas to have cheapre arrangements? I am sort of on a budget. What flowers would be good for October? Does anyone know an DJ's that will work for $500 or less? Am I crazy to look for that price?

I
Wedding Countdown Ticker

Re: Officiants? Florists? October Flowers? DJ's? HELP!

• I can't, I just can't.

Slow down. We can see that you're on a budget. A lot of what you're asking depends on your location. Are you looking for an officiant of a particular religion? Where is your ceremony/reception?

In regards to the DJ...Some people will tell you that you're crazy to look in that price range (the whole 'you get what you pay for' deal). I have also learned on this board that a lot of the DJ companies in NJ charge up to $1k for their services. I've seen these DJ's and I don't think they're worth it. So, be careful when looking for your DJ and if at all possible, get personal references. Don't believe everything you read on the interwebz.
    Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml
  • If you are looking to save money, go on over to the Budget Board.  Those ladies have some great ideas.  I would not have fresh flower centerpieces.  You can make the table beautiful with just some votive candles and rose petals spread around.  You can buy the rose petals freeze dried in bulk.  Also, some brides make their own bouquets using brooches, fabric or paper flowers, and a number of other things.  I would check out the DIY board for inspiration.  The ladies always post pictures of their projects.

If you can't afford a DJ, you can always hook up an ipod to the house speakers at your reception hall.  And ask a friend to be in charge of the ipod during the reception.