Military Brides

Duty station feedback?

Hey everyone! Quick introduction. I'm a registered nurse and an Army brat, so I know a lot of the family side of the military... Now I have to learn the spouse side, because my FI is an ROTC cadet about to commission in the next few months. We're about to make The List. Yes, the infamous duty station list that is pretty much worthless because the Army will send us wherever it wants to. I've seen a good chunk of the world's Army bases in my 22 years of military life, but this is all new to me. We've been talking about it for a few years now and have narrowed it down to (in order): 1) Vicenza, Italy 2) Schofield Barracks, HI 3) Fort Carson, CO 4) Fort Bliss, TX What I'm wondering is, have any of you been to these places? What did you think from a wife's point of view?

Re: Duty station feedback?

• edited December 2011
    I cannot speak as to LIVING in Vicenza but I did go and spend a few weeks with my friend who is an Army wife stationed there. All the housing is off post and the post is TINY. The location and sightseeing is amazing though. There is no hospital on post, it's a little drive away. One piece of advice for housing there is to not rely on housing there to get you a great place to live. My friend learned that if they had passed on the house provided they could have found another house for the same money but much bigger. If you get stationed there, let me know and I'll pass her info on to you for any questions you have. Good luck and I hope you get orders to someplace on your list! Corinna neena_lynn at yahoo dot com
  • hegrigsbyhegrigsby member
    First Comment
    edited December 2011