Military Brides
Options

What you wish you'd known

So ladies, in 11 days, I will be a military wife. What are some of the things about The military you had to find it yourselves or wish you'd known earlier? I mean the beaurocratic stuff-- I'm already waaaaay too familiar with dealing with him being gone all the time! Give me your knowledge!
Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Re: What you wish you'd known

• Options
    edited April 2012
    Good question.  I am still learning.  I for one cannot get used to all of the acronym used for things.  I often times find myself in a blank stare when H strarts to speak "Army lingo." I just smile make a mental note and google what it means. 
  • Options
    I don't know much about Navy lingo or anything that has to do with H's job. One thing that I needed was my H's login to check paychecks. Especially because I'm not employed and he is going underway soon. I need that to budget now more than ever.
    imageBabyFruit Ticker
  • Options
    Learn to read an LES

Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml
  • Options
    edited April 2012

What branch is your FI in?

I was really excited when I found out I could send H stuff for free while he was deployed. All I had to do was drop the boxes off at the Squad and they were able to send them with the deployer (plane) that leaves base weekly. It was something I found out as a fluck and is not widely known around base but saved me A LOT of $ and headache with the USPS. But I know it's specific to us since H is AF and the base has cargo planes.

Our base and most AF bases offer a Heart Link class. During the class I learned a TON of information that was base specific that has been invaluable.