Military Brides
Options

could really use the help

im new at this whole military thing and my finace wants to have a military wedding. The only thing I know about military wedding is at the end when u walk through the swords. I could really use the help.

Re: could really use the help

• Options
    edited December 2011
    It really all depends on how much of the military traditions you WANT to have at your wedding! At our's, he is wearing his dress uniform, his stetson and spurs (he's a cav scout in the Army) along with the one GM that is also military. The other GM will wear the crossed sword pin for the calvary on their lapels under the boutineers. There will be a good amount of military people there at the wedding but that's about as far as he wants to go with the military traditions. I wanted to walk under the Arch of Sabres but he said no since -from what I understand- the people holding the swords are supposed to be officers...I guess he isn't close with enough officers and doesn't want to ask a bunch that he doesn't really know.

Each brigade and unit seem to have their own traditions so you could maybe ask the wives of some of the guys he works with for some advice. GOOGLE EVERYTHING YOU CAN THINK OF!!! Seriously! Google will become your new best friend! You can honestly just type in 'military weddings' and a bunch of websites will pop up.

Also, don't forget to ask your fiance! Even if he doesn't know the answers to all of your questions himself, he has to know guys that have done this before! My guy has been asking all of his married buddies for advice and such, and it's really helped us out a LOT!