Military Brides
Options

My Boyfriend proposed, what I do now?

My boyfriend of three years proposed to me on July 4th and since then I've been soo excited. I started planning to have the wedding next year; I couldn't wait. It wasn't until the next week he told me that he was being deployed overseas all next year. Nervous and lost, I don't know what to do. I have friends and family members telling me to get married in two months, but I am a college student with no money and he has only been in the Army for six months, so he is not making a lot of money either. Besides that , we agreed to wait until September 2012 to get married. People think we're crazy to wait that long because of the welfare of my fiance, but we are not comfortable with rushing to get married. Are crazy? Is it more "secure" to get married soon, before he leaves?

Mrs. Lorraine Ennis Anniversary Visit The Nest!

Re: My Boyfriend proposed, what I do now?

• Options
    kyrgyzstankyrgyzstan member
    First Anniversary 5 Love Its Name Dropper Combo Breaker
    edited December 2011
    WAIT. If you want to wait, do it. 

I'm not married to my boyfriend. I'm the sole beneficiary of his SGLI (life insurance), he can put me on the casualty notification list when he deploys again.

Go through this deployment, learn what your life will be like. He's only been in six months, so now's your chance. DO NOT RUSH BECAUSE OF A DEPLOYMENT. Bad decisions are made when people rush them. Go with your gut and wait.

ETA: It was really, really important that I graduate college before I got married, even though I'm older than most college students, which I did in June. I'd advise the same for anyone else. 
    I hate Dave Ramsey
  • Options
    edited December 2011
    Oh, and congrats on the engagement!
    I hate Dave Ramsey
  • Options
    belkis86belkis86 member
    First Comment
    edited December 2011