Military Brides

Newbie introduction & request for advice

Hello!

I am brand new to theknot and I wanted to introduce myself. I am Cate, and I'm marrying a wonderful man, who is a member of the Marine Corps. He got orders earlier than we expected (I am told to get used to that), and because of it, we are moving our wedding from January 2012 to July 2011. Theoretically, July 1 or July 2--we're touring reception venues next weekend.  We decided on July yesterday. 

I am at peace with the fact that everything will be simpler and less elaborate than I originally imagined, because we're working on a shorter time schedule. Marrying my fiance is my dream.

Because it is a holiday weekend, military chapels at the local posts will not perform weddings, so we need to find a Catholic church in the local community. I was expecting to have the full 6 months that the church requests for notice. Now, I am concerned that all the churches will be booked or we won't be able to find a priest willing to waive the 6 months notice. Do any of you ladies have advice? Know of wonderful churches in Arlington or Alexandria sympathetic to active duty military and compressed schedules? I appreciate anything you can tell me!

PS: I plan to cross post this on the Catholic board--please tell me if that is rude or not done. Thanks!

Re: Newbie introduction & request for advice

• edited December 2011
    Welcome!! Marine Wife here.

I would also suggest posting this on the local board for those areas.

I think your best bet would be to contact the priest and explain your situation. I was raised Catholic and I can't imagine a priest not at least being sympathetic towards your situation, maybe if he can't help you, then he could recommend someone else. I know that the Church is really strict, but I'm sure that they could help you out. I know that direct contact is really your best option.

Good Luck!!
    Photobucket
  • edited December 2011