Not Engaged Yet
Options

Feelings on motherhood?

So, with my friend's "we're not trying to get pregnant, but we're not preventing it" thing recently (see earlier post)...I've been thinking about motherhood lately. For me, I've always wanted to be a mom someday. I think i've known since I was pretty young that I wanted a family; I've even had a girl's name picked out since I was in elementary school. I know women who are open to the idea of kids and women who never want children...so I guess just opening up a forum for all us gals to talk about our thoughts on the subject...

Re: Feelings on motherhood?

• Options
    AudgiePodgeAudgiePodge member
    5 Love Its First Anniversary First Comment Combo Breaker
    edited December 2011
    I love being a mom.  But I can totally see why some animals eat their young.
    I'm not good at feelings.

• Options
    Elle1036Elle1036 member
    First Anniversary 5 Love Its Name Dropper Combo Breaker
    edited December 2011
    I'm really on the fence about it.  Most days, I feel like I'll be perfectly happy never having children, but then I'll see a really cute one and think that maybe it wouldn't be so bad.

I really want to adopt or foster some older children -- the ones the system tends to forget -- but whether we pursue that will depend a lot on FI's and my career situations in about 10 years.  I'm definitely not having any kids, naturally or otherwise, for at least, like, 7 years.

My main reasons for not wanting biological children, at least for now, are:

1.  Terrified of pregnancy.  Seriously.  I remember how miserable I was during puberty when my body was doing all kinds of things I'd never seen before, and pregnancy strikes me as equally scary and weird.

2.  Kids throw up... a lot.  Some of the people around here know already about my emetophobia...  I can't stand vomit.  I'm sure I could get over it for my own children, but I'm not sure I even want to try.
  • Options
    Wrkn925Wrkn925 member