Wedding Vows & Ceremony Discussions
Options

Ceremony solo sung by the bride???

Something tells me this would be a serious faux pas, but at the same time people do some crazy things nowadays, so.

Basically, I'm a singer/guitar player. My fiance loves this about me. He mentioned wanting music (i.e. a solo) at the wedding but as we are outdoor it would really kind of have to be acoustic...and none of our friends can both sing AND play guitar (or any other instrument, for that matter). Problem is...I'm self-taught and can really only play when I'm singing along.

So would it be totally against etiquette or whatever if I surprised him and sang a song for him at our ceremony?

Re: Ceremony solo sung by the bride???

• Options
    Yeah~I'm also a professional singer.  And I have to tell you that the emotion of your wedding ceremony is so overwhelming that no matter how good you are, it's tough to pull off well. 

And in a day that's already incredible AW-ish for the B&G (and that's just fine) it seems to me that singing during your own ceremony is just a tad too much.

FWIW:  I sing at scores of weddings.  I didn't sing at my own,  I didn't sing at my son's.  I didn't sing at my DD's.  I would have been too emotional.  And to underscore the emotional aspect:  I DID sing at my mom's memorial service which was crushingly emotional.

I'd have less issue with it at the reception, I think.  I'd have even less issue with it if you chose your first dance song, and sang to your new DH while the two of you were dancing.....or during another dance at the party.  Or at an afterparty.

Good luck.
    "Trix, it's what they/our parents wanted. Why so judgemental? And why is your wedding date over a year and a half ago? And why do you not have a groom's name? And why have you posted over 12,000 posts? And why do you always say mean things to brides?" palegirl146
  • Options
    I once went to a wedding where the bride sang.

It was awkward.

It's not rude, but it WAS strange.