Not Engaged Yet

Waiting for proposal vent!

This is my first time posting on the boards. Here's the background: my boyfriend and I were friends in high school and dated a few months. After attending colleges in different states, we started dating seriously in June 2007. A year later, he moved into the house across the street from me, where I often stayed over, as a kind of stepping point to us moving in together for real in June 2009.

So here we are now - we've been dating seriously almost 3 years, and have legitimately lived together for almost a year after faking it the previous year. We both have college degrees and steady jobs (he makes a LOT more than I do right now, but I'm getting a 2nd degree this December which will get me making by myself a very respectable salary). We have generalized, compatible conversations about marriage issues (money, family, kids, values, religion, education) without actually discussing marriage very often. He's a guy, so he doesn't bring it up. That makes me insecure so I don't bring it up until I'm upset about it not getting brought up.

My baby sister is getting married in 2 months, most of my close friends are married, engaged, buying homes and starting families, and I'm feeling pretty insecure about *why does he wait?* A lot of times guys wait because they have to finish school - he's been graduated almost 3 years now. Or they wait to get a good job - he's had a fantastic job for the same length of time. Or other worries of financial stability - he's probably more financially stable than 85% of Americans right now, no joke. These are the main reasons people wait, unless they aren't sure about the person - which I asked him about once or twice, and he firmly denied that he was unsure about me. 

So what gives, guys? What's he waiting for? 

Re: Waiting for proposal vent!

• edited December 2011