Chit Chat
Options

NWR: Any teachers out there?

Teachers, I need your help.

I graduated in NY last May, but unexpectedly moved in July. I've been looking for a teaching job down here ever since, but to no avail. However, hiring season is rapidly approaching, and I need to make myself marketable and able to beat out the 2398723592735 other people applying for dwindling teaching jobs. My portfolio is geared towards NY (standards-wise). Should I change it to my new state? Any interview/resume/cover letter tips?

Thanks. Cross your fingers for my future.Smile

Re: NWR: Any teachers out there?

• Options
    I'm in CA so I probably won't be much help.  I'm only just about to start applying for teaching jobs.  I'm really freaking out because if I don't get hired I will have to do unpaid student teaching.  A lot of the students in my program have already been teaching for awhile, so I'm planning on asking some of them how prepared for interviews and stuff.  You said you already graduated, but maybe if you still keep in touch with your former classmates, you could ask some of the ones who were lucky enough to get jobs.  Also, if you did your student teaching, maybe you could ask your master teacher for advice.  I think I would make the extra effort to gear your portfolio to your new state, so they can see that you have an understanding of what you'll be required to teach.  HTH, and good luck!
    I already made the most important decision- the rest are just details! image
  • Options

are the standards for ny and nj that different? if you're living in nj and will be for a while, yes change the wording of things to reflect where you live now. try asking your old program for help finding a job, many have placement programs.

• Options