Attire & Accessories Forum
Options

Medieval groom's attire ideas

Hello everyone!  My FI and I are trying to narrow down what he might be able to wear for our winter 2013 wedding.  We are both medieval enthusiasts, and are having a medieval themed wedding.  However, I have not bought a medieval dress (I'm doing my thesis on medieval fashion, and if I wanted a historically accurate dress I'd have to make it myself, and I really didn't have the time).  So I am not wearing something specifically medieval, and neither are my bridesmaids.
However, my FI would like to wear something medieval.  But it has to be something that looks formal and serious for the church ceremony, and we probably don't have the money for two outfits for him.  Any suggestions for something that is sort of medieval but also more formal?  We'd thought a nice doublet, but it is hard to get them in our colours of white and light blue.  I'd thought a nice vest over a "medieval" shirt, but opinion of others seems to be that this isn't formal enough. 
Thanks for any opinions or ideas!

Re: Medieval groom's attire ideas

• Options
    kerbohlkerbohl member
    First Anniversary First Comment 5 Love Its First Answer
    edited February 2013
    Oops - I did mean winter 2014 wedding, not 2013 . . .

• Options
    IMO if the you and the BMs are wearing modern attire it's going to look off if the groom is wearing medieval attire.  It's going to look very costumey. Maybe you could compromise? Wear a modern suit for the ceremony and the medieval attire for the reception?

Image and video hosting by TinyPic Lilypie First Birthday tickers
  • Options
    ITA with Hoboken.

TBH, I was scared to even click on this thread to read it. I'm all for having a hobby and/or being enthusiastic about whatever...but a wedding calls for proper attire.

Attire that could be interpretted as a costume is better suited for a costume party, play, or a reinactment.