Texas-Dallas and Ft. Worth
Options

Venue Help Please!!! Ashton Gardens or SMU Perkins and reception ???

Hi ladies!

Has anyone had their wedding/reception at Ashton Gardens?  It's a beautiful venue and I am considering it!  Do they nickel and dime you as much as Piazza?  (Btw I love Piazza!! It's booked on my date :/).  How is the food at Ashton Gardens?

My other option is wedding at SMU Perkins Chapel and reception at a hotel possibly.  I am thinking of the W as I hear they are offering great rates right now.  Also considering Dallas Museum of Art (waiting on call back from them concerning rate).  I looked into CityClub as well but the reviews on the food seem a little off. 

Any suggestions/advice will be greatly appreciated!  I am just beginning my planning for my wedding set for October 13, 2012 and am hopping to have venue booked by the end of this month.  Never been the girl that just dreamt of my wedding so the whole planning process is even more difficult for me.  Trying to gain more "interest" in the whole process LoL just can't seem to decide on venue :/

Re: Venue Help Please!!! Ashton Gardens or SMU Perkins and reception ???

• Options
    How many are you inviting?  Can I also suggest Maggiano's at North Park?  We had a wonderful reception there in '09.  All of our friends and family still rave about it. 

There's also an out of the way Hilton on Preston that you could consider and we had our RD at the Double Tree Campbell Centre (Caruth Haven and Central) and the food was very good.
  • Options
    Thanks!  I am planning on 150-200 depending on the venue.  I could do 200 at Ashton Gardens at same price as 150.  The venue there is beautiful just wasn't sure about the food.  I have also read blogs regardign them booking many weddings in one day and brides feeling rushed (no time for pics, etc.).
  • Options
    Is October 13 a home gameday at SMU?  Because if it is, you can't do Perkins.