Snarky Brides
Options

Feeling unappreciated **Vent - Long**

This is my first time posting to this board, but I just need somewhere to whine for a minute.  My FI really upset me this morning.  Some background: He's an accountant, and I work for a communications company.  It's tax season, so he's been working really long hours, and will be until about a month before our June wedding.  I usually work about 40 hours a week, but I also take care of almost everything at home - laundry, cooking, cleaning, taking care of our pets (1 dog, 2 cats) - and have been handling the majority of wedding stuff, too.  After work, I'll come home, take the dog out, make dinner, address envelopes, maybe run some laundry, do dishes, etc etc etc.  Now, this is fine with me - he works a lot, and I try to do what I can to make things easy on us both.

Anyway, this week I have a major project at work and have been working 10-12 hours a day, and haven't had time for lunch.  Like I said, we have a large dog and I feel terrible keeping her cooped up in the house for so long. So this morning I asked FI to take her to doggie day care for the day, which is like 5 minutes from his office. And he started going on about how he's stressed, he didn't have time, he didn't "feel like it," wah wah wah. I reminded him that I would likely be at the office for 10+ hours, and it isn't fair to the dog to leave her home all day when we left her home yesterday.

His response? "Look, I'm really happy you're getting these extra hours at work, but it's still NOTHING compared to what I do! You have no idea how hard I work and what I do!"