October 2013 Weddings

Introduction

I just wanted to say HELLO to everyone... I got engaged yesterday, on Christmas!  The ring was hidden in the bottom of my stocking :)

My now fiance and I decided that we wanted to get married in the Fall of 2013, most likely October, awhile ago. I graduate nursing school this coming May so I am going to (try) and wait to do any planning until summer so that I can focus on school.  I am excited about having a long engagement - I like the idea of having extra time to plan, plus it will give us time to save money. 

A little bit about us - I am 22 and plan to work as a nurse in the emergency room, I work as a tech there right now.  My fiance, David, is 25 and works on commercial heaters and A/Cs.  We have been together three years.  We have two dogs - Hank is a german shepherd/golden retriever, and Heidi is a german shepherd.  Both are adopted from a local shelter and are my kids :) 

I do have a couple of questions... when should we have an engagement party?  My dad is going to host it and do just a casual open house type thing, but do we do it relatively soon, or wait?  Also, how long should we wait to do engagement pictures?

Thanks!

- Jen

Re: Introduction

• I'm glad to be the first to welcome you to The Knot! As for your question, engagement parties are usually held within 3 or 4 months of the actual engagement date. A longer wait is ok if the engagement is also long. As for e-pics, I think it depends on what you want them for. Many people use them for save the dates. Personally, I got engaged back in July, but I haven't gotten e-pics done yet.
    Planning Bio (click), still in its early stages
  • Welcome and congrats! Personally, I am a budget bride and won't be having an engagement party or pics done. But I say any time is fine!
    Wedding Countdown Ticker