Wedding Cakes & Food Forum
Options

Calling all cake experts! Found my cake, but is it DIY-able?

Sorry to post twice in a row on the board, but I just found this cake and had to ask! My FMIL wants to make my wedding cake, and although I trust that she'll do a good job (she's done all of her children's wedding cakes), I'm wondering if this is too complicated to ask of her:

Thinking the edible flowers can just be replaced with real roses... As it looks like they've just done buttercream frosting (which I prefer) with a bit of piping texture on the sides and used ribbon around the bottom of the layers, it doesn't look too complicated, but I have no personal experience in making cakes. Would this be too big of a request? 

Also, where do you get those black tier separator thingys?
"He who laughs at himself never runs out of things to laugh at."

Re: Calling all cake experts! Found my cake, but is it DIY-able?

• Options
    fallbride1109fallbride1109 member
    First Anniversary 5 Love Its Name Dropper First Comment
    edited December 2011
    I have no idea--I just wanted to say I love the cake!  Very elegant yet modern looking too.  If she has done cakes, your FMIL may know how to separate the tiers.  And nothing else about it looks too complicated.
  • Options
    edited December 2011

Does she have experience making wedding cakes other than her children's? How complicated were theirs? I would maybe just show her the picture and ask her if she has ever made one like it and if she would be able to make it for you. She would know better than anyone if she is capable of doing it. It is a beautiful cake. :)

Image and video hosting by TinyPic
  • Options
    edited December 2011