Wedding Cakes & Food Forum
Options

Vegetarian Food at Reception

To start with, I am a vegetarian, and my fiance is not. That is not a problem, as we cook for each other all the time and don't mind each other's eating habits. 

That said, I would like to have a GOOD vegetarian option at our reception. I don't want just pasta with sauce, since hey, this is my day too, and I want something worth my while! However, do you think it would be better to have a meat option and a vegetarian option, or would it be better to do a buffet where there would be several meat options AND several vegetarian options? I am leaning more toward buffet, but I am just beginning to think about all of this. 

Also, if you had vegetarian options at your wedding, what did you have? Or have you been to a wedding recently that had a great vegetarian dish? Any help would be much appreictaed!

Thank you so much!

Re: Vegetarian Food at Reception

• Options
    futurepivkofuturepivko member
    First Comment
    edited December 2011
    We had grilled vegetable ravioli at ours, and many of our non-vegetarian friends picked that as their meal also!

Is there a cost difference between plated meal vs. buffet? And what kinds of meals would be on both?
  • Options
    edited December 2011
    We had a buffet, except it was set up as two identical stations to reduce how long people had to wait (and also the presentation just generally looked nicer).  We had plated gazpacho and salad, and then tables were invited up to the buffets. 

We had (everything except the fish was vegtarian):
    Alaskan halibut over pesto risotto
    Alaska salmon over giant lima beans
    Lasagna with white sauce, artichokes, and spinach
    Porcini mushroom purses with marscapone and herbs
    Vegetable streudel (vegan)
    Green and yellow beans
    Grilled vegetables
    Roasted potatoes
    Asparagus platter