Getting in Shape
Options

Lack of Motivation

I've recently decided to get back into shape. Before I graduated college in June I was doing really well with tracking what I ate and working out. Now I'm living with my parents (meaning no rent but not much control over meals) and I'm working as a Staffing Coordinator at a temp service 35 minutes from my house and we're in peak season.

I joined a gym and started a new MyFitnessPal account (username xDUNKIEx if anyone wants to add me) but I have no motivation!!!! Any tips?

Re: Lack of Motivation

• Options
    I agree with xcaly that the more results I see the more motivated I am.

It also helps checking in on the accountability thread here. The more I posted the more I wanted to make sure I didn't have bad/lazy things to report - it helps knowing people are keeping track.
  • Options
    You're the only one who can motivate you.

Make sure that you're making a lifestyle change, and not looking for a quick fix (read: diet now to look good, then once the event is over, going back to your old ways). And don't get me wrong, sometimes saying,  "I want to look good/be hot/be a yummy mummy ..." is a valid enough reason for someone to start being healthier.

whatever your reasons, make a list. Remind yourself of them. You're already on the right track; tell other people what you're doing. Don't talk trash to yourself or about yourself. Learning to take a compliment is probably the hardest thing to do. When I began losing weight and people were saying how good I looked, it was really easy to brush them off. Eventually I stopped, when I realized how hard I was working, and that I deserved some credit.

And no, I'm not there yet. I look at myself as a work in progress. I look at how far I've come, and how close I am to being where I want to be.